myNetWatchman   KnowledgeBase

Pooling knowledge to
secure the internet.


mNW Reports  FAQ: mNW Reports





(Registered Users Only)


Look Up Incidents by IP Address

 

 

Who are the WinPopUP Culprits?

Extort - To obtain from another by coercion.

It is Ironic that 90% of the messenger spam I see is promoting products to block messenger spam. They'll keep broadcasting their message until I purchase their products? Sounds like extortion to me! This business plan of theirs is even more surprising considering that it is easy and free to disable the Microsoft service which allows such messages to be received in the first place. (Click here to test your computer for vulnerability to Windows PopUP spam and information on how to rectify that vulnerability.)

Aside from noting the huge proportion of pop-ups that promote tools to prevent pop-ups, my investigation yielded interesting information about the offending companies and their products. What I initially thought was ten to twenty different companies/products really appears to be three or four compaines using a wide variety of names (ie, messagestop.net, messengerbegone.com, destroyads.com, directadstopper.com, messengerdestroyer.com, endads.com, defeatmessenger.com, messagebasher.com, broadcastblocker.com, messengerstopper.com) to advertise just three or four unique products. Many of these products seem to corelate back to P.O. boxes in San Diego, California, so I suspect the true number of companies may even be smaller.

The Investigation

Starting at about 2pm Eastern today I fired up my packet analyzer so I could capture specific details of exactly what kinds of Messenger spam my computer (using Comcast Cable modem) is receiving. After 90 minutes I had received three Messenger Spams. Further analysis revealed that all three of the IP addresses that I caught sending me spam have been detected by hundreds of myNetWatchman Agents.

PopUp Spam One

The first popup i received was promoting a Messenger-spam blocking application and directed me to www.DirectAdStopper.com. Using the packet analyzer I was able to determine that the message was actually sent from an IP address of 202.131.221.61 — a system in Guangzhou China. After surfing to the above web site I was offered to purchase "Messenger Killer" for the low, low price of $24.95.

The website mentioned above, hosted at IP 204.174.223.15, is owned by NetNation Internet Inc., a web hosting company in Vancouver. Clicking the 'Buy Now' link directed me to a payment processing site, www.onlineamericanpaymentprocessing.com/order_killmessenger.pl, whose IP address (64.177.254.3) is owned by Alabanza, Inc.

Details of this incident, as reported by myNetWatchman Agents can be seen here.

PopUp Spam Two

A short while later I received a second popup, this time directing me the site www.messengerdestroyer.com . The message comes from 204.15.192.64 (also in China). This site is hosted at the exact same IP as DirectAdStopper.com (204.174.223.15). In this case I was offered a product called "Messenger Blocker" for $29.95 — but a web-coupon offered a few screens later saves me $5.00, making this as good a deal as Messenger Killer! Clicking the 'Buy Now' link forwarded me to the same payment site as above.

Details of this incident, as reported by myNetWatchman Agents can be seen here.

PopUp Spam Three

A few minutes passed before I got a third popup, this one from 210.5.22.10 (China yet again), directing me to www.endads.com. This domain is hosted at 216.17.101.160, owned by a web hosting company in San Diego called Phatservers.net. 'Buy Now' link directed me to 64.94.118.66, an address hosted by the large ISP Internap.

Details of this incident, as reported by myNetWatchman Agents can be seen here.